Skip to main content

The Trusted Standard For Grant Funding

At the heart of the Global Grant Community (GGC) is the world’s first international Standard for Good Financial Grant Practice (ARS 1651). The Standard was developed at the African Academy of Sciences in Nairobi, Kenya with support from some of the world’s largest public and private sector funders including UKAID, Wellcome, UK Research and Innovation, the UK Dept. of Health & Social Care, the IKEA Foundation, the European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP), the African Union and the New Partnership for Africa’s Development and Co-ordinating Agency (NEPAD).

The Standard sets out in detail over 280 points of Good Financial Grant Practice (GFGP) that major funders expect and look for when allocating funding. These practices run across four areas of financial management, human resources, procurement and governance.

The GFGP Standard is now available in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese.The copyright of the GFGP standard is assigned by the African Academy of Sciences(AAS) to the African Organization for Standardization (ARSO) and copies of the standard can be downloaded from the web sites of the National Standards Bodies which have adopted the standard. Check out the options below for further details.



Grant receivers only need to complete one assessment which is seen by many funders. This saves time by ending the requirement to complete multiple assessment reports for each grant application.

Already, some 150 organizations across 33 countries have completed GFGP Certification Readiness Assessments. The GFGP Standard has been adopted in Rwanda and Kenya as an obligatory requirement for state funded grant receivers. Uganda, Botswana, Sierra Leone, Nigeria, Ghana, Togo, Zambia, South Africa, Zimbabwe and the Gulf States are all expected to introduce mandatory grant receiver GFGP assessments for state funding in the near future.

At last there is a level playing field between state and philanthropic funders and their beneficiaries, with everyone working to a common standard of what represents best practice in grant management.

The GGC and the new GFGP Standard will rebuild trust in the global funding supply chain by only connecting funders with grant receivers that have been assessed for their ability to comply with the rigorous grant management procedures set out in the world’s first international Standard of its kind.

GFGP Standard (ARS 1651:2018)

The GFPG Standard has been developed in Africa as a global standard in partnership with the African Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO), which formally adopted the Standard (ARS 1651) in June 2018. ARS 1651 has been designed to be relevant for grant receivers and grant awards of all sizes. There are four tiers of achievement - bronze, silver, gold and platinum - depending on the scale and complexity of funding and the size of the grant receiver.

How to choose the right tier

One Standard to fit all sizes

During the grant application process, funders can ask GGC grant receivers to provide an assessment of their ability to comply with one of four tiers of the new global GFGP Standard: bronze, silver, gold or platinum, based on funding complexity and grant receiver size.

Grant receivers can complete a GFGP Certification Readiness Assessment for one of these four tiers, based on the size and complexity of their organisation. This assessment report then appears on a searchable database used by funders looking to award grants.

Typically, the bronze tier would be right for a CSO or CBO working in a single region or city, handling a few small funding grants each year. Silver tier would be relevant for an NGO that manages a greater number of larger grants in one or more countries; and gold would apply to larger INGOs or Research Institutes managing significant funding grants at a continental or International level, involving sub awarding of grants. Finally, platinum will be right for the largest funding awards given to global INGOs and international Institutes conducting global activities.


  • CBOs, CSOs
  • Regional/Country level activities


  • NGO's
  • Activities across one or more counties


  • Larger INGO's
  • Research Institutes
  • Continental/International activities
  • Makes sub awards


  • Global NGO's
  • International institutes
  • Global activities